I finished the Triple Dog Dare!

The TBR Triple Dog Dare put on by James Reads Books.  The idea is to read only books you’ve already bought or checked out or whatever and have on your To Be Read pile and while you may buy new books, you have to wait until the dare is over to read them.  The dare runs from January 1 until April 1.  It’s a great yearly thing to do for me.  It forces me to really look at my TBR list and think about what can stay, what can go, and what needs to be READ.

I actually didn’t do a lot of reading this quarter anyway, so it wasn’t much of a challenge for me.  Since we decided to try to get a new house and unload ours things have been super crazy with a capital CRAZY so my mind has been on other things than reading.  I read the book club book for April, Steve Martin’s Born Standing Up, which was good.  And it was good in a different way than I expected, so that made it even better.  I read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars which was also good, but not really meant for me.  I mean I liked it, but I doubt I’ll see the movie or anything.  When kids talk like they wish they could talk rather than how they really do it can work on the page but can be annoying in movies.  What do I know, they might pull it off.  I’ll wait and see.

I also have started working my way through Sir Terry Pratchett’s Discworld which could very well take me the rest of my life (sine there are now FORTY BOOKS in the series) so I won’t go into to much detail on those other than to say I love them and don’t know why it’s taken them this long for them to find their way to me.  But man they are a hoot.  You’ll either love them right away or you won’t.  So far I think Guards! Guards! is the best, but who cares about best or worst in such a long running and brilliant project?  But yeah, start there if you’re curious and if yo like it then go for it.  If not, then you’ll have more time to read all the other books in the world.

“His philosophy was a mixture of three famous schools — the Cynics, the Stoics and the Epicureans — and summed up all three of them in his famous phrase, ‘You can’t trust any bugger further than you can throw him, and there’s nothing you can do about it, so let’s have a drink.”
― Terry PratchettSmall Gods

Cheers until the next TBR Dare!

2 thoughts on “I finished the Triple Dog Dare!

Comments are closed.