Guys Who Read 2015 Reading List

The following list is the upcoming books my face to face book club will be reading. Any thoughts?  What have you read?  What do you think you might?  I’ll post on the ones I read and the meetings I attend.

January – Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man – James Joyce – Fiction – Classic
February – Red Shirts – John Scalzi – Science Fiction
March – Guns Of August – Barbara Tuchman – History
April – Flowers of Evil – Baudelaire – Poetry – http://fleursdumal.org
May – The Martian – Andy Weir – Science Fiction
June – Beowulf – Seamus Heaney Translation – Epic Poem
July – Blood, Bones & Butter: The Inadvertent Education of a Reluctant Chef – Gabrielle Hamilton – Non-Fiction/Memoir
August – Riddle of the Sands – Robert Erskine Childers – Spy Fiction
September – A Good Man is Hard to Find – Flannery O’Connor – Short Stories
October – Little Brother – Cory Doctorow – Fiction / Cyberpunk
November – Maus – Art Spiegelman – Graphic Novel
December – Infinite Jest – David Foster Wallace – encyclopedic novel
One thought on “Guys Who Read 2015 Reading List

  1. As a member of this group who suggested some of these and agreed with most of them, I’d like to express my admiration for this list. Female writers are fairly well represented for a Guys book group, two books of poetry (one epic, one not) History, Graphic novel, Cooking (as we began a few years ago for our Guys Who Eat meeting) and two rather challenging authors to bookend the whole thing.

    On a personal note, I’ve read four of these and that’s a good percentage of stuff to re-read. I like surprises. Having said that, “you can’t step into the same river twice” seems to apply to books more than to other media for me.

Comments are closed.