Guys Read Roundup for 2014

We had our last book club meeting of the year at a fine Irish pub with good beer, good food and good friends.  We went through the list of the books for the Guys to give a thumbs up, down or sideways with their comments.

January A Short history of Nearly Everything by Bryson  (most thumbs up or sideways)

“Bryson needs to learn the definition of ‘short!'”

“Maybe we should have read Boorstin’s The Discoverer’s instead?”

“Is Boorstin as funny though?”

February Sisters Brothers by DeWitt (Thumbs way up)

“I LOVED THAT ONE!”

“I didn’t read it but I will NOW!”

“I think that was the best of the year.”

MarchBorn Standing Up by Martin (Thumbs up and sideways)

“I liked it.”

“It was pretty good.”

AprilReady Player One by Cline (Thumbs way up!)

“Screw Gilgamesh, humans 500 years from now will be reading THIS!”

“How the heck are they going to make this into a movie?”

MayLongitude by Sobel (Mostly thumbs up)

“I especially loved that illustrated edition.”

JuneGilgamesh (Meh.)

“Guess it depends on which translation you read.”

“Well I read five of them…heh heh.”

JulyHeat by Buford (Thumbs up)

“I keep hearing about this guy from chefs.”

August The Lies of Lock Lamora by Lynch (Thumbs way up)

“I really needed that book at that time.”

“That was great fun.”

SeptemberThe Right Stuff (Thumbs way up)

“Excellent.”

“Perfect.”

OctoberBilly Lynn’s Halftime Walk by Fountain (Thumbs up, down and sideways)

“I liked it.”

“I hated it.”

“It’s grown on me in retrospect.”

NovemberFun Home by Bechdel (Thumbs up)

“Quite an achievement.”

“Emotionally affecting.”

“I found it emotionally distant actually, but brilliant.”

December – Bridge of Birds by Hughart (Thumbs up)

“A wonderful romp with so many levels.”

“I didn’t get past the first chapter.”

“I warned you about the first part!”

“It was great.  The sequels aren’t as good but this is amazing.”

