“This may be a foolish question but I’m going to ask it anyway…”

That was how I was greeted this morning by the sweet custodian who takes care of the part of our school building which includes the Media Center.

She asked, “I was wondering if the books can only be checked out to the students?”

The system is set up to check out books to students and staff but not custodians. Did I tell her that?  Of course not. The past few days I’d been making displays for black history month and she had become intrigued by some of the books.  She wants to check out a few of them Friday and read them over the weekend.  I’ll check them out under my account.

“And it’s okay to check out the ones on display?” she asked.

“That’s why they’re there,” I said.

She wanted to know what the limit of books she could check out might be.

“As many as you can carry,” I said.

She left smiling and humming.

2 thoughts on ““This may be a foolish question but I’m going to ask it anyway…”

  1. Me too, mshoni! Leila is a sweetie. She told me she’s originally from Jamaica which I didn’t know. I knew she had a bit of an accent, but didn’t know from where. Hope she enjoys the books!

Comments are closed.