Recent Readings

51G5RdZkdeLI finished The Android’s Dream by John Scalzi last week but forgot to write up a post about it.  It’s an early work of Scalzi’s and tips way more over into the humor category than even Redshirts.  He’s always had humor in his books but this one is probably his funniest and most satirical.  That’s not to say his characters aren’t just as interesting as they always are. They are dealing with a slew of problems which, while personally affecting them also have implications for, well, the intergalactic community at large.  If you like random aliens, intergalactic intrigue, action as well as legal and political maneuvering, and are up to one of the best and most intricate fart jokes in literary history, then this one is for you.

We’ve also just started reading a new book aloud with our daughter.  Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery.  My Lovely Bride was almost hesitant to start it because she loves it so dearly she feared what would happen if our daughter didn’t like it.  I don’t think she needed worry.  We’re five or six chapters in and she’s laughing delightedly in all the right places. It’s a great read aloud.

51FgcC7xc8L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_A few posts ago I mentioned my struggles with the undeniably brilliant The Guns of August by Barbara Tuchman. I was 30% in (obviously reading on my Kindle) and not sure if I wanted to go on.  When this prolific book blogger said he gave it up as well I dropped it right then and picked up a fat, juicy fantasy novel I’ll been meaning to get to.  Now I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish the fantasy novel in time for the close of the TBR Dare but I’m much happier reading it (even though it’s pretty dark).  Funnily enough, one of the guys in my book club sent a link to a documentary film version of The Guns of August that’s on youtube.  I enjoyed it but the weird thing was an hour of that thing went by before it got to things I hadn’t read.  And remember, the book is over 600 pages (of which I only read 30%) and the film is only an hour and a half. But it looks the film sticks only to what it has footage for.

Anyway, The Guys Who Read met to discuss the Tuchman book last night.  It was a great meeting with a longer discussion of the book than I expected since not many of us had made it all the way through.  We also had a moving toast to Sir Terry Pratchett, an author many of us have enjoyed, including group reads of Guards! Guards! and Good Omens.

I’m not hopeful of reading all of the next pick either.  It’s Charles Baudelaire’s Fleurs  du mal/Flowers of Evil. Translated French 19th Century poetry?  Hmmmmm…

At least it’s online for free.

