Time to Call It

Time to call an end to this year’s TBR Double Dog Dare, for me at least. It was not my best showing, that’s for sure.  I only completed eight books.  I abandoned two super long ones.  I abandoned an over 600 page non-fiction history book chosen for my book club at about 30% in (you can tell I was reading it on a Kindle). I just now decided to give up on the over 700 page fantasy novel I’ve been plugging away at for the last 400 pages.  I am just really starting to hate the main character so much that I just don’t care what happens anymore.

Of course another way to look at it is that hey, I knocked eight books off of my TBR pile and read great swathes of two big books that, while I ended up abandoning, I enjoyed reading for the most part and still got some things out of. The TBR Dare isn’t really about racking up the numbers, at least not for me.  It’s mostly a chance to read the things I’ve bought in the past and never gotten around to.  Doing the Dare every year has made me closer than ever at seeing the light at the end of my TBR tunnel.

But it’s time for me to move on.  I don’t want to read the rest of this book and don’t have anything lying around that I can probably read in the next couple of days.  But I do have an Amazon gift card I’ve been holding on to so I’m going to go blow it on things to add to my TBR list!

This was a hard TBR Dare in another way.  The poster girl for the Dare was a lovely dog named Dakota.  I’ve been seeing pictures and reading anecdotes about Dakota for almost as long as I’ve been blogging.  Dakota said goodbye to this world in January. She was deeply loved while she was here and she will be missed.

