I Grew a Beard

I know this isn’t staggering world news, many people grow beards.  But it’s one of the things I’ve “accomplished” this summer so will share.

I didn’t plan it.  My girls went out of town for 12 days (which is too long!) and I just skipped shaving for the first couple of days because of being off schedule.  No biggie.  But then my daughter Facetimed with me and asked if I was “growing a beard.” Not at all, I said.  In fact, I told her, I was just about to go hop in the shower and shave.

No, no, no, she said.  Don’t shave until we get back.  She wanted to see what it would look like.  I was CERTAIN that the first thing My Lovely Bride would have me do when we got back from picking them up at the airport was have me shave it off.

Nope.  They like it.  So I’m keeping it for the foreseeable future.  I got a beard trimmer and everything.  It’s funny because it makes me look older but I don’t mind.  I’ve always looked younger than I am.  That didn’t bother me and I doubt that looking my age or older will bother me either.  It’ll just be an interesting change.

I still wasn’t 100% sure about it so I posted a photo on Instagram asking for votes.  One gay friend said, “Yummy.”  So I said I guess that clinches it.  If it’s “yummy” it’s gotta stay.  Heh heh.

Photo on 7-29-15 at 2.31 PM #2
What a dork.
