Who Knew My Beard Would Impress the 5th Grade Boys?

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I bought a bunch of super cool new posters for the library.  I painted sections of it.  I got cool new tables.  It’s neat in there!

The only thing the returning students want to ask me about is my beard.

Some of the little ones without filters tell me how much older I look.  “Distinguished is the word I think you’re looking for.”  The 5th grade boys, however, think it’s cool and want me to thoughtfully stroke it.  I don’t know.  It’s a thing.  Most of the time when a kid asks me why I have it I just say that I’m just so full of awesome that it’s coming out of my face!

I’ve been a bad book blogger.  I have a growing list of books I’ve read and keep meaning to blog about but getting back into the swing of the new schedule has been a challenge.  Here’s a list.  I’ll write more about any you’d like to hear about:

Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis. This is a pick for this year’s Reader’s Rally team.  It was light and funny and the first of a series.  It’s about an obnoxious boy who fancies himself a master detective.  Like Inspector Clouseau, he’s actually quite terrible at it but unknowingly gets a girl with a distant father to have more of a connection with her through his bumbling.  He also has a giant polar bear as his assistant.  It’s never made clear if the bear is really there or a figment of his imagination he uses to blame things on.  Either way, it’s pretty funny. It’s a half-ilustrated, half-text hybrid book like the Big Nate or Wimpy Kid series.

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff. A half Asian kid lives with his high achieving parents in NY and spends a lot of time with an art student nanny.  He is “absolutely almost” good at lots of things, which means he’s not really good at anything. He likes donuts and he likes to draw (badly) and he’s a kind and thoughtful friend most of the time, but is easily tricked by some bullies.  He isn’t good in school so his mom has him tested for dyslexia…which he doesn’t have.  That’s the big twist of the story, that there’re no easy narrative expectations met.  He doesn’t turn out to learn to deal with a disability because ha doesn’t have one. He’s just not that bright.  He doesn’t suddenly find the one thing he’s good at.  He just quietly, without really trying, let’s his parents figure out and accept who he really is and they learn to appreciate him.  It may not sound like it from this short description, but it’s very good.

Ms. Marvel: Generation Why and Ms. Marvel: Crushed by G. Willow Wilson. I’ve been reading these with my daughter and it makes for fun reading and interesting discussions.  Ms. Wilson’s twist is that the new Ms. Marvel is a teenage girl from Jersey. And she’s from a Muslim family.  And she’s pretty awesome while she’s trying to figure out this whole superhero thing along with all the teenage angst and the strict but caring parents.

Saga, Vol. 4 by Brian K. Vaughn. I can’t really explain this one. You either like beautiful but strange SF/Fantasy comics with some graphic content or you don’t.  You’re either waiting for the rest of the series like I am or it’s not even on your radar.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. An interesting graphic novel. It’s the story of a shape shifting girl who wants to join forces with a  supervillan.  But it turns out he’s really kinda the good guy in his fight against The Institution and it’s “heroes.”  And she’s not really what she seems.  I mean, duh, she’s a shape shifter, but there’s even more to it than that.  It’s pretty amazing early work from one of the creators of the Lumberjanes series.

Nemesis Games by James S.A. Corey. Part 5 in the continuing series known as The Expanse.  They’re making the first one, Leviathan Wakes, into a TV series on the SyFy network coming out this fall or winter.  I don’t have cable so will have to wait but I’ve been eating up this series with a spoon.  It’s just my kind of SF/action adventure and this is probably the best one yet.

Now to get to work on some stuff for school.  Have a great rest of your weekend everyone!

