Who Discusses the Watchmen?

My book club does, that’s who!

20160324_202104

It was a dark and stormy night, so not the best attended meeting we’ve ever had. But it was a great place (a pub with a comic books shop in it!) with great food and drink and company.

I even brought a special guest to the Guys Read book club: my soon-to-be teenage daughter! Problem was, we hit the comics before we hit the table so her part of the conversation looked a lot like this:

20160324_194606She read a new Lumberjanes and a new Ms. Marvel at the table! I would have gotten my money back but I know she’ll re-read them many times over so it’s fine.

So fun was had by all! For next month we’re all supposed to send one of the Guys up to five poems each. He’s going to collate them all and send us a PDF of the set so we’ll just have a random collection of interesting poetry to discuss for April (which is poetry month by the way). Sounds great in theory but I haven’t done it yet and I don’t know anyone who has. So it might end up being a bunch of guys bringing poetry to the next meeting instead of the well-planned thing, but we’ll see.  Either way, I’m sure it’ll be enlightening.

Any poetry you’d recommend for this?

2 thoughts on “Who Discusses the Watchmen?

  1. Billy Collins’ poem, The Country, is my all time favorite poem. The book, God Got a Dog, by Cynthia Rylant is aimed at young adults, but is a wonderful collection. Marilyn Nelson’s How I Discovered Poetry is another personal favorite. It’s a memoir of her growing up during the Civil Rights Movement written as poems.

Comments are closed.