My Non-Jury Jury Duty

I got a thing in the mail saying I was selected for jusry duty and to call or check online every day for a week to see if I was needed for service. For the first three days I wasn’t so I figured I was dodging the bullet. But on the next afternoon when I checked I was indeed to report the next day.

I arranged a sub and went to the courthouse. I was sent to the “Juror Assembly Area” which is this huge waiting room with coffee and wifi and not totally uncomfortable chairs (unless you have a hinky back and have to sit in them all day).

I read and waited. Many folks came in. Finally we were given a pep talk and a video to watch, then different Baliffs came in and had us move into groups. Then different groups would be called out to go into their courtrooms.

My group sat there for hours. Finally, the Baliff came out and said there were “motions” being discussed in the courtroom and we wouldn’t be needed until later. We were allowed to leave but told to be back by one.

I came back and waited until one. The Baliff came to see if we were all there. Then we sat there for hours. Then he came back and said whoever it was had pled guilty and we were no longer needed thank you for your service.

Weird.

The funny thing was observing my fellow group members. Some read, some chatted, some watched things on their phones with headphones. Some napped. But a couple of them looked very tense and twitchy thinking about all the things they “should” be doing. I mean I understand, we all have stuff to do and I’m sure it’s harder on some than others but once you’re there you are there and sitting on the edge of your seat and muttering is not going to make the time pass quickly for anyone.

But anyway, that waiting room day counted. I don’t have to check in anymore. So I did my civic duty people. I waited in a big waiting room for a whole day for $30 and finished a book on my Kindle. Wasn’t the best day; wasn’t the worst day. But I realized just sitting and waiting quietly (or pleasantly chatting) is better than sending out stress vibes. Those twitchy characters probably didn’t realize it, but they made it harder for other folks.

