My Less Douchey Guys Book Club

In response to this horrifying article (and it’s subsequent mentions on Twitter), here is a list of female authors my wonderful Guys Read book club has read:

Candice Millard

Laura Hillenbrand

Sarah Vowell

Suzanne Collins

Katherine Dunn

Susanna Clarke

Mira Grant

Connie Willis

Josephine Tey

Margaret Atwood

Patti Smith

Dorothy L. Sayers

Natasha Trethaway (she’s local and we invited her but she couldn’t make it)

Dava Sobel

Allison Bechdel

Barbara Tuchmann

Gabrielle Hamilton

Flannery O’Connor

Emily St. John Mandel

Ruth Reichl

Mary Roach

and I’m pretty sure we have done a JK Rowling and I have Octavia Butler and Julia Franks on our to read list…

We’ve also had females accompany us to meetings. It’s a guys book club by default, not by any strong rule.

Ok, back to reading…

4 thoughts on “My Less Douchey Guys Book Club

  1. But not Like Water for Elephants. Tell me you didn’t read Like Water for Elephants. 😉 For many years I was the only guy in a book club that started out at the first school I worked at. There were times when I had to veto the selection, but I have read most of the women on your list.

Comments are closed.