Still Here

It’s been a busy school year and when I’m not busy, I haven’t been thinking about blogging. I was just starting to think about it…when the election happened and I really didn’t want to talk more about that.

But I enjoyed posting about that Cinema Club movie and realized I should post about those from now on (if they’re worth telling you about). The others we’ve seen so far this season are worth checking out. The first was A Man Called Ove which is apparently based on a popular book club book. I haven’t read the book and I have a feeling this is one of those rare instances where the movie is at least as good as the book. It’s a funny and touching story of that old guy in every neighborhood who is a bit over the top in his enforcement of association rules. Grumpy, inflexible and unlikable. But some boisterous neighbors move in next door, we begin to learn about his past, and things get interesting.

We also saw Moonlight  which is every bit as moving and perfect as you’ve probably heard or read about. The performances are truly exceptional and the ending made me hopeful for humanity.

The last one we screened was Jackie which has a searing performance by Natalie Portman as Jackie Kennedy during the time from her 1961 television tour of the White House to an interview with a reporter in the weeks after JFK’s funeral. It jumps back and forth in time and includes some graphic imagery so it’s not for everyone but man is she good. Powerful stuff.

I also need to get back to writing up my Guys Who Read book club books and meetings. The problem with that is I didn’t love the last book and I doubt I’ll finish the next one. But let me just say a few words about the last meeting. After the election I was wishing we were meeting that Thursday instead. I so wanted to commiserate with those guys. But meeting a week later helped us focus on the book and other things before we chewed over that particular dumpster fire.

It really is an amazing group of guys. One had a dog he was training to be a service dog. One had to bring his toddler because his spouse was caring for their newest child. One dapper professor was wearing a suit with a horseshoe crab pin on one lapel and a Black Lives Matter on the other. We did the thing where we had a long list of book suggestions for next year and we went around and around a few times until we knocked it down to twelve. I’m not going to tell you what they are yet because we haven’t picked which books for which months and there may be one or two substitutions before it’s completely locked down. But as always, its a good and eclectic list and it will be a joy to read and discuss them in the coming year no matter what else happens in our country. At least there will still be good movies and books to talk about.

Now to keep chipping away at next month’s book (which I’ll never finish), The Iliad…

