Random House Children’s Book Buzz 2017

A Greyhound and a Groundhog by Emily Jenkins and Chris Appelhans looks like a delight. It’s full of wordplay, tongue twisting and spare, stylish illustrations. Should be a fun read aloud if I can handle it!

If you ever get a ride on a time machine, deliver early 2000s me a copy of Let’s Clap, Jump, Sing & Shout from Patricia McKissack and Jerry Pinkney so I can have a better repertoire of kid’s songs and such when I was bringing up my little one! As it is, I’ll have to settle for making it my new baby shower go to gift.

Bird, Balloon, Bear by Il Sung Na. You can’t have too many books about shy folks trying to make friends, especially one with this many excellent reviews.

Lucky for you they’ve pushed the release date of the Wonder movie back to the fall, giving you more time to grab We’re All Wonders, R. J. Palacio’s picture book about Auggie from the super popular middle grade novel.

Flying Lessons & Other Stories edited by Ellen Oh. I’m usually allergic to kid’s books with an overt social/cultural agenda but this collection from the We Need Diverse Books campaign has an amazing lineup and many starred reviews letting me know I’d be foolish to let it slip through the cracks.

If you’re not already on the Hilo bandwagon, grab the first two and pick up this third in the series and you will have happy readers from all grade levels thanking you as well as bugging you for more. Hilo: the Great Big Boom looks as wonderful and as mind-blowingly cool as the first two in the series.

The Explorer’s: The Door in the Alley by Adrienne Kress looks like just the kind of funny adventure book I would have lapped up as a kid. Hand this first in a new series to those Lemony Snicket fans.

That’s all from me when it comes to ALA Midwinter posts, and not a moment too soon. I just finished inventory and they’re about to deliver the next Scholastic Book Fair tomorrow so I’m kind of in the eye of the hurricane right now. (Dang, now I have Hamilton in my head again…)

Leave a Reply

