Social Media Readjustments

132_1338905Doug Johnson over at The Blue Skunk Blog talks about something I’ve been dealing with lately as well. We’ve both been shedding our follows. On Twitter I was up to following near 600 accounts. Over the past week it went down as low as 150. I think it’s gotten slowly back up to about 250 now and seems in about the right place.

Here’s things I did to thin the herd and regain my sanity and social media enjoyment. (I just do Twitter and Instagram. You’re on your own for Facebook.)

Turn off Reweets! Not everyone’s. Some people I follow because they are great retweeters. Jennifer Ouelette, for example is an excellent retweeter giving me some great sciency goodness. But many people hysterically retweet almost everything. Just turning off retweets from most of your follows will tone things down a bit.

Unfollow. The great thing about Twitter is for the most part, no one takes it personally or even knows if you’re following them or not. So if anyone is tweeting too much about sports or politics or whatever it is, even if you agree with them, unfollow.

You don’t have to tell them! Never tweet: “I’m unfollowing you because you post too many cat pictures,” or “I used to like this account but now it’s all about politics!” Even actors and musicians are allowed to have political thoughts. If you started following someone for one reason but are seeing things you’re not interested in, no problem. Click that unfollow button and go on with your life.

Try following them elsewhere. Some of the children’s authors and illustrators I  follow were getting a bit much on Twitter but less so on Instagram.

Now I’m getting a good mix of news, education stuff, and fun things along with a tolerable amount of the political commentary (but that from people I enjoy their commentary).

I also don’t always limit myself to people I agree with. I follow some people who actually liked that Batman v. Superman movie, for example. I even follow some Republicans! But I don’t follow any accounts that drive me nuts anymore. There’s a difference in being informed and overloaded.

 

Leave a Reply

